Five Little Monkeys

I’m back to teaching English, but only part-time. VERY part-time.  As in 4.5 hrs/week.  I teach 3 preschool classes 3 times a week.  I did this same gig a couple months last year, and that’s when I discovered how much I LOVE teaching the little ones.  Up until that point, I had declined any classes with young children with the philosophy that I have enough at home to deal with.  😉

One of the best parts of teaching English to preschoolers is being able to introduce them to new songs and games.  One of their favorites is “Where is Thumbkin.”  I love watching their amazement as we sing “Here I am.”  My mom gave me a set of books with a sing-a-long CD by Dr. Jean that I decided would work awesomely in the classroom.  So, I used “Five Little Monkeys.”  These are not the jumping on the bed monkeys.  They are the swinging from a tree kind.

Five little monkeys swinging from a tree, Teasing Mr. Alligator, Can’t catch me!  Along came Mr. Alligator, quiet as can be and snatched a monkey right out of the tree!

The first two classes I used it in were the youngest & they just loved the whole snatched part where I clap my hands like an alligator’s mouth.  But then, I got to the older class.  Their Vietnamese teacher was in there that day & decided to help them understand better with a little translating.  As we’re reading along, she translates that the alligator eats the monkeys.  The kids’ eyes all grow with fear.  Totally a priceless moment.  These kids didn’t look like they wanted to continue.  We turn the page…she asks how many monkeys are left…the kids answer…she tells them again that the alligator ate a monkey.  And this just continues throughout the whole song.  Oh, man…it was just hilarious.  Once we finished reading, I started the CD & snapped my alligator mouth at a few of the students & that’s when they finally relaxed and started enjoying the song.

About samesameteachergame

Foreign white chick currently stuck in Ho Chi Minh City working as an English teacher.

2 responses »

  1. Sounds like it’s a little too graphic for their culture — hope you didn’t traumatize them, Carissa!

    Reply
  2. Might want to try the Go Fish Guys Version of 5 Little Monkeys on their party like a preschooler song. My personal favorite! You are a naughty, naughty, little Monkey – for sure! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a comment